Call Us Today
(877) 697-7537
right at home aging in place webinar
Published By Beth Lueders on December 07, 2017

Join the Aging-in-Place Webinar on December 14

American Association of Retired Persons (AARP) research found that almost 90 percent of older Americans wish to remain living in their own home in later life. But how can older adults live independently and safely at home as their health changes and the years progress? What is the aging-in-place trend all about?

Right at Home Sponsors Free CEU Webinar on Aging in Place

In conjunction with the American Society on Aging (ASA), Right at Home is hosting a free webinar, “Aging in Place: The Preferences of Today’s Aging Generation,” on Thursday, December 14, at 2 p.m. ET, 1 p.m. CT, noon MT and 11 a.m. PT. The online presentation will explore a holistic definition of aging in place, with the importance of matching a person’s physical needs to the residential environment.

Dr. Rein Tideiksaar, Ph.D., PA-C, will present the one-hour webinar. Dr. Tideiksaar is a leading gerontologist and geriatric physician assistant who specializes in fall prevention for the elderly, and he is a noted authority on helping seniors age in place successfully.

Home Care Assessment Tools for Family and Healthcare Professionals

The webinar will examine how seniors and their families can control certain factors of safety and comfort in the home, from preventing injuries to modifying living spaces. Sometimes brighter light bulbs are all that is needed to keep an elder safe at home; other times, the bathroom and kitchen may need remodeling. Dr. Tideiksaar walks webinar participants through the steps for ensuring practical home safety solutions.

Dr. Tideiksaar will also review the importance of completing a functional environment assessment to evaluate the safety conditions of the home. The assessment gives adult children, geriatric care managers, occupational therapists and other care team members insight on how to best keep the elder healthy and financially secure. The webinar also overviews how to make the home safe again if health or environmental factors arise.

Dr. Tideiksaar is president of Fall Prevent, LLC in Blackwood, New Jersey, a consulting company providing educational, legal and marketing services related to fall prevention for aging adults. His engaging webinar message is designed for family members, healthcare professionals and others who are interested in aging in place well. The American Society on Aging endorses the webinar, and qualifying attendees will receive one free CEU credit. Click HERE to register for the complimentary webinar.

 An award-winning journalist who has documented stories in nearly 20 countries, Beth Lueders is an author, writer and speaker who frequently reports on diverse topics, including aging and health issues for both U.S. and international corporations.


a791734a-18e3-4c79-890e-ca961ada3a84 https://www.rightathome.net/ CountrySite