Your safety is of paramount importance to us. Find out how we are responding to COVID-19. Learn More
rah-08242021114237-hero-desktop rah-08242021114237-hero-mobile

Elder Abuse: Identifying and Advocating for Seniors

Continuing Education Units Webinar

On November 15, 2022, Right at Home is sponsoring a free webinar, “Elder Abuse: Identifying and Advocating for Seniors,” presented by Stacy Donnelly, RN, BSN.

Title Elder Abuse: Identifying and Advocating for Seniors
Date November 15, 2022
Time 10 a.m. PT | 11 a.m. MT | 12 Noon CT | 1 p.m. ET
Cost Free
Credit Includes 1 complimentary CE credit*
Webinar Replay Webinar

Elder abuse and neglect are topics that often are difficult to think about, but both situations are common and can have serious medical, social and psychosocial consequences. One way to decrease elder abuse and neglect and their negative impacts is to provide education on both of these topics, including warning signs and prevention steps.

In this 60-minute presentation, Stacy L. Donnelly, RN, BSN, defines the types of elder abuse and neglect, discusses several examples, identifies warning signs, and describes the steps to be taken if someone suspects an older adult is being abused. Stacy also will discuss the techniques used when abuse cases are investigated. Questions about the information provided will be welcome.

Participants in this webinar will be able to:

  • Define abuse and neglect.
  • Identify and describe the types of elder abuse and neglect, including the warning signs.
  • Describe the steps to be taken when there is suspicion of elder abuse and neglect.
  • Identify interventions to reduce family caregiver stress.

Replay Webinar


About the Presenter:

stacy-donnelly-webinar-rightathome

Stacy Donnelly, RN, BSN

Stacy Donnelly is a licensed registered nurse with more than 20 years of experience working in nursing homes, skilled rehabilitation facilities, and continuing care retirement communities. Her involvement in these settings as a director of nursing has contributed to her extensive experience in developing policies and procedures, investigating incidents and unusual occurrences, auditing patient care, monitoring adherence to policies and procedures, educating staff, and ensuring compliance with all regulations. Stacy’s casework as a nurse frequently involves investigations into falls, weight loss, dehydration, elopement, wrongful death, sexual assaults of nursing home residents, resident abuse and negligence, and facility policies, procedures and staffing.

*This webinar is designed for professionals and family caregivers. Eligible professionals can claim ONE FREE CE credit within 60 days of the live webinar by attending the live event or watching the recorded program. Your credit will be emailed within 30 days of survey submission. For a list of approved accreditation providers and other information, visit https://asaging.org/ceu-information.